Relationships are Evil?

18 11 2010

I read a post on a fellow blogger’s blog that I read quite often.  It’s rare for me to find a blog written by someone who is my age and still single and just as jaded and brutally honest as I wish I could be.

I have been thinking of her post for a day or so now and feeling how I can completely relate to it.  Sure, I have been married before (for a whole 18 months) but sad as it is, my ex and I were better f*ck b*ddies than we ever were married.  My friends and I joke I am a curse or a blessing (however you want to look at it) to every guy I date.  They break up with me and literally the next person they go on a date with they end up marrying. No less than the last 5 relationships I have had has this happened. Even The Boy who took 9 months to utter the words I Love You started dating someone 3 months after we ended our year and a half relationship and was engaged within 7 months.   But I am OK with that because I am happy.  The things I am missing, I can get anywhere (even though I rarely take advantage of that).

I too am VERY independent.  Hell, now days to be this age and be single, you have to be.  But, I also think that it has something to do with the fact that I refuse to settle for anyone and as I have gotten older, I notice my must have list gets longer and not shorter.  I am completely happy in my little single world that for anyone to be considered to come into it on a permanent basis, they damn will better be my Superman.  Sure, I have “dated” a few that would be contenders but life gets in the way and people move on (literally and figuratively) and you know what, I’m OK with that.

Actions

Information

One response

18 11 2010
Dogette

This is how I feel too! So refreshing…in a twisted way.

Leave a Reply

