Passion or lack thereof

11 08 2010

Currently I am the most over-paid administrative assistant you probably know.  I am also the most over-qualified.  What MBA (almost) spends an hour of her day on food runs for her boss?  Or spends hours booking appointments for her boss.  Or checking voicemail, answering client questions, printing documents, writing correspondence…the list goes on and on.  Maybe I would enjoy doing all of this is I was learning something but the only thing I have learned lately is to make sure that the barista at Starbucks writes down the order on the cut when it has more than 3 components.  I have also learned to not take it personally when someone calls me the secretary. 

I am envious of those that have a job doing something they are passionate about.  I am looking for something but it is hard when the area I live in doesn’t have much in the way of an economy in my chosen interest field.  I am open to relocation but have you looked at the job market lately???  Oh, and let’s not forget that I actually have no experience in this industry.  I am very knowledgeable in it but experience is not on my side at the moment. 

This was my lightbulb moment today as I was sitting looking at the clock hitting my head against the wall that it was only 3pm and I was bored out of my mind.  I am forever indbebted to my boss who has made sure I have always been taken care of in our various moves.  But to go from running an entire operation to sitting here answering phones and scheduling appointments is about to drive me batty.  I am wasting his time and mine.

So I will keep doing this until I can find a job in the industry I want to be in.  And until that time, I am going to enjoy all the Facebooking, blog reading, writing, and study time during the day.

Speaking of study!!  I just paid for my last univeristy classes!  The next bit of money I give to them will be for graduation junk.  I can’t believe that after all of this work, I am finally hitting my last semester.  It has been such a long road that I can’t even remember when I started.  All I know is I am ready for the next chapter!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

