Coincidence? I Think Not!

21 05 2010

It is strange how life works.  A friend of mine reminded me about a month ago of this Helen Keller quote, “When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed-door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”

I had been lamenting on my post yesterday for some time before finally just admitting it to myself and posting it.  Once I got it out of my head, I could no longer deny how I was feeling and I could no longer hide from what was happening. I had to accept it and move on.

After I wrote that post, I went to my weekly Thursday night speaking group meeting and anticipated a normal meeting just like any other meeting.  One of the members there who I have spoken to on numerous occasions, started up a conversation after the meeting and it ended at about 11:45 that night (3 hours after the meeting was over).  It was good to finally talk to someone who is going through some of the same life events as I am.  Someone who is in the same place I am in my life.

It is safe to say that I think I made a new friend last night.  Strange how I finally let go of one friendship and it gets replaced with another one.  Referring back to the quote, how long as this new friendship been waiting to start while I have been busy mourning the loss of the old one?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

